Fairate Express Ltd. (Fairate) tells a typical story about how Hong Kong people strive forward towards success. With an initial start of seven, Fairate and its team witnessed all the changes in the industry for the past 30 years and has grown to an international air and ocean freight forwarder and consolidator with more than 100 full-time staff. Fairate provides services including international freight forwarding, logistics solutions and supply chain management. Like other companies which started from nothing, Fairate went through a lot to become a sized company today and has garnered a few “Top Agent Awards”. By adhering to its operation philosophy – to provide top quality services with reasonable prices – Fairate continues to elevate its service quality to meet the needs of the ever-changing market.

Refurbishing the office to embrace the digital transformation challenge

Market competition has become more and more fierce recently. Major logistics companies all began to invest in advanced technological systems to track cargo, enhance efficiency and provide real-time information to clients. William Tam, the Managing Director of Fairate, strongly believes the company needs to implement digitalization in full swing to meet and even surpass market demand. Therefore, to make the best out of their existing workspace, Fairate decisively abandoned traditional design and decoration companies when planning for their new office, and used Ricoh’s innovative 3C Digital Workplace design instead to improve employees’ coordination efficiency and reduce resource consumption.


Register now for our digital workplace live showcase tour

 

Innovative office space design encourages collaboration

William expressed: “Logistics technology is developing at high speed, especially in the digitalization area. If we want to expand our business, the company must initiate an all-rounded digital transformation, so we can keep up with the market competition and meet the requirements of our business partners.” Indeed, although the office is used to be spacious, communications between departments has been hindered due to inappropriate use of resources and space. Some salesmen even joke about looking for colleagues in another department is like “crossing the harbor”.


See how digital meeting rooms work in your workplace - Download our white paper now!

 

Jack Tam, the General Manager of Fairate who was born in the 1980s and later inherited his father’s business, particularly feels the need of office digitalization. Jack believes the company’s warehouses must provide full-coverage WIFI connection and gradually implement automation to retain talent, especially when the turnover rate of warehousemen is already extremely high. This can also reduce the dullness of the job and make the process smoother and easier. However, William worries the staff may not accept the new office design and will be reluctant to reduce personal workspace in an open-plan office. Therefore, he hopes to encourage communication among employees, enhanc collaboration and coordination by implementing an innovative solution to optimize the use of office space. Jack admitted they approached traditional office design companies in the early stage of planning. Even though he appreciated the fanciful designs, they were impractical and will not meet the “digital” needs of the company’s operations.

Redefine workplace to implement 3C concept

To further understand how Ricoh’s Digital Workplace Services can support the company’s development strategy, Jack and William visited Ricoh’s Digital Workplace at One Kowloon where they experienced the innovative design of a modern workplace. Unlike ordinary design houses which only focus on visual effects, Ricoh emphasizes the meaning of having a physical office and encourages to replace traditional “office” with “workplace”. Along with new technology and services, this change can improve the use of space as well as enhance cohesion among staff. Working environment will no longer be limited by geography. And Ricoh’s 3C concept: Connectivity, Communication and Collaboration aligns with Fairate’s pursuits.


Check-out your digitalization level in 5 minutes!

 

Ricoh’s innovative design notion indeed clicks with Fairate’s vision to pursue digitalization. William is impressed by the practicability and success of Ricoh’s 3C concept. For example, the sales department at Fairate is always empty as salesmen are always out for client meetings. This led to a misuse of office space. In view of this, Ricoh proposed to replace traditional cubicles with adjustable long tables. This allows flexible use of space, either as a temporary meeting area or for product dismantle/assemble. To fully support agile working, Ricoh suggested deploying IP phone system which allows staff to contact clients by mobile anywhere. The display number will still be shown as office direct line. In addition, Ricoh has set up Wifi network coverage with VPN for the 5,000 sq. ft. new workspace and a 30,000 sq.ft warehouse. All staff can be connected seamlessly no matter they are at the office, the airport, the warehouse, or even at client meetings.

To build a harmonious and efficient workplace, and to encourage staff exchange ideas and participate in business development discussions, Ricoh helped Fairate reallocate resources and redesign its space. For example, they have installed the Interactive Whiteboard, projector and video conference system in meeting rooms, which give a refreshing experience to clients. In addition, multifunction printers and stationery are placed together in the printing area to facilitate management and resource sharing. The pantry is now brighter and more spacious, and with the newly installed wall-mounted TV, staff can enjoy their lunch time with other colleagues in a more relaxing way. Jack took a step further to utilize the digital display monitor at reception to provide surprises for clients and to celebrate staff’s birthdays by displaying tailormade posters. All the above have given a good impression to clients and visitors.

William said the company did not hire external vendors for previous office relocations as they have their own logistics team. However, this incident makes him understands the importance of resource allocation, which will in turn allows staff to better serve their clients. Therefore, Fairate has mandated Ricoh as the sole advisor for its relocation project, ranging from design, system installation, transportation, and even to restore its old office. Jack described their relocation process as “The Great Migration” because he expected the moving would create chaos in the first place. However, the service provided by Ricoh has exceeded his expectations and the project was completed ahead of the deadline. William expressed he did not have to worry a bit during the whole process.

After a month’s experience, staff who initially resisted the concept of Digital Workplace expressed their support towards the new design. William believes innovative workplace design can bring staff closer, stimulate creative thinking and encourage people to keep their minds open for new things and to share ideas. This no doubt will bring positive effects on the overall operation. Going forward, Fairate will continue to promote digital transformation, to explore, cater and even surpass what the market needs.

Join Our Newsletter

Join us for tips on how to create mature digital workplaces.

由最初的 7 人專業團隊,發展至現時百多名全職員工的國際海空運輸和集裝企業,輝域海空運有限公司 (Fairate) 見證長達 30 年的行業變遷,可說是典型香港人奮發向上的故事。與部分白手興家的例子一樣,提供國際貨運、物流方案、倉儲及供應鏈管理等服務的Fairate能達致今日的規模,並榮獲多項「優秀代理」獎並非一蹴而就,全賴多年來堅守其經營理念,以合理價格為客戶提供最優質的服務,並針對時刻變化的市場需求,不斷提升服務水平。

辦公室破舊立新迎數碼化挑戰

隨著近年大型物流公司爭相投資先進系統以追蹤貨物位置、提高效率、向客戶提供實時資訊,市場競爭愈見激烈。Fairate行政董事譚耀輝 (William Tam) 深信,要貫徹其業務宗旨,公司必須全面推行電子化方能迎合甚至超越市場需求。為能更有效規劃空間,Fairate在籌備新辦公室時,果斷捨棄傳統設計裝修工程公司,採納 Ricoh 創新的 3C 智能工作間設計,希望藉此能提高員工協作效率、減少資源損耗。


按此登記「智能工作間」Live Showcase Tour

 

創新空間規劃促進協作溝通

William 透露:「物流技術發展迅速,電子化尤其明顯,加上業務夥伴對工作流程數碼化的要求與日俱增,若打算推進業務發展,公司就必須由內到外推行數碼化轉型。」的確,過去辦公室地方雖大,卻往往因而造成資源和空間浪費,令部門之間疏離欠缺溝通,銷售人員更笑說找其他部門同事猶如「過海」。


智能會議室如何為您的工作間帶來新面貌? 立即下載理光白皮書

 

子承父業,80 後的總經理譚文博 (Jack Tam) 對辦公室數碼化需求之迫切有更深刻的體會。尤其是倉務員流失率極高,要留住人才,Jack 認為倉庫必須提供全面的 Wifi 覆蓋,同時逐步推行自動化流程,令本來沉悶的工作變得輕鬆流暢。另一方面,William則憂慮員工未能接受新辦公室的開放式設計,抗拒縮減個人工作空間,盼能藉應用創新方案改善新辦公室的空間使用率,以促進同事間的溝通、連繫和協作。Jack 坦言籌備之初曾物色傳統辦公室設計公司,雖則欣賞對方美輪美奐的設計,然而那些設計花巧有餘,實用性不足,未能配合公司日常營運數碼化的創新需求。

重新定義工作間落實3C 理念

為進一步了解 Ricoh 的智能工作間規劃服務能如何配合公司的發展策略,Jack 和 William 更特地前往Ricoh位於「一號九龍」的智能工作間,實地視察現代工作間的創新設計。有別一般設計公司只著眼視覺效果,Ricoh強調重新思考實體辦公室的目的和意義,提倡以「工作間」(workplace) 取代傳統的「辦公室」(office),配合創新科技和服務,有效運用空間之餘,亦提高工作環境的凝聚力,令工作環境不再受制於地理空間規限。而 Ricoh 的3C 理念:Connectivity (連繫)、Communication (訊息傳遞) 及Collaboration (協作),亦正正是Fairate所追求的變革目標。


您知道貴公司的數碼化水平嗎?立即用五分鐘分析您的工作間之數碼化程度

 

Ricoh創新的設計理念與Fairate追隨數碼化的精神可謂一拍即合,而最能說服到William的是Ricoh的3C理念能實際應用於自家工作環境,且成效有目共睹。以Fairate為例,由於前線銷售人員經常外出見客,部門不時出現空置狀況,造成空間浪費;有見及此,Ricoh 便建議Fairate摒棄傳統的 cubical 辦公室間隔,改為採用活動式長枱,除可於空置時用作臨時會議間,亦可供客戶上門進行貨物裝拆。另為支援流動辦公的需要,Ricoh 建議部署 IP 電話系統,讓員工無論身處何地均可以手機撥打電話給客戶,對方收到的來電同樣顯示為公司直線電話。加上Ricoh 為 5,000 尺的新工作間以及30,000呎的倉庫覆蓋完善的 Wifi 網絡,並具備 VPN,令安坐工作間、機場、倉庫以至外出見客的前線銷售人員均能無縫地連繫起來,實現無障礙協作。

為創造融洽高效的工作間,鼓勵員工交流和參與討論業務發展,Ricoh分別為Fairate重整資源和規劃空間,例如為會議室部署令客戶耳目一新的一站式智能白板、投影機和視像會議系統;此外,將數碼多功能打印系統與文具一同集中存放於打印間,以便管理和資源共享。同時,茶水間亦比從前更具空間感、光線更充足,加上安裝了掛牆電視,讓員工可於午膳時一同觀看劇集增進交流。Jack 更利用接待處新設置的數碼顯示屏,針對要接待的客戶和生日員工設計精美的電子海報,製造小驚喜,令客戶留下良好印象。

William 坦言,基於公司擁有運輸團隊,過去搬遷不假外求。但經此一役,令他深明善用資源、各司其職,員工才能專心服務客戶。因此今次從設計裝修、設備安置、搬運以至舊址還原均由 Ricoh專業團隊一手包辦。Jack形容搬遷過程為「動物大遷徙」,因原預期會造成內部大混亂,結果服務超出預期,更早於原訂時間完成,穩妥得令 William 可安枕無憂。

一個月過去,初期對智能工作間創新設計存疑抗拒的員工亦紛紛表態支持。William 認為,創新的工作間設計有助拉近員工距離,同時刺激員工的新思維,變得更樂意接受新事物和分享構思策略,對整體營運有相當正面的影響。未來,Fairate將繼續推動數碼化轉型,不斷探索、迎合甚至超越市場需求。

訂閱電子報

訂閱我們的電子報,以獲取更多「智能工作間」的資訊。